08.18.15 | Baby Shower + Gender Reveal

I recently traveled back to St. Louis for my sister’s baby shower. Although the bee theme is common for baby showers, it had an even greater connection for my sister.  You see, she attended St. Ambrose University in Davenport, IA…home of the Fighting Bees.  Therefore we took the theme and ran with it!

Anyways, she’s pregnant with identical twins and wanted a cute, non-cheesy way to share the gender with her guests.  We’ve all seen the colored cake, balloons in a box, and more…but none of these are quite my sister’s style.

So…instead we decided on the scratch-off idea! In order to ‘package them’ creatively, I found small paper bags at Michael’s {they are more like envelope pockets}.  I then added a ribbon and bee envelope seal to the outside, before inserting the gender reveal scratch off card and a penny inside!

I love the way they turned out and they were such a hit at the shower.

20150721_171444

Gender reveal card | Business card sized

20150721_163912

Front + back view

20150724_111144-1

The scratch off stickers worked!

Each envelope included a gender reveal card + penny

Storage + display for the baby shower

Oh and I tried my best to follow the DIY scratch off paint instructions I found on Pinterest.  I quickly gave up and instead found scratch off stickers on eBay.  Total time saver and worth the price!

Leave a comment